What does it mean to love recklessly?

watch the story being written

If you ain’t got no money take your broke self home/We flyin’ first class, livin’ the life August 4, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — Emily McDonald @ 11:23 am

So here’s some brutal honesty for you.

On nights like tonight, I think “god, maybe you really aren’t calling me to stay in this country.”

It’s 9:45pm and it’s 90.5 degrees in my room.

There is no electricity and the generator is broken.

I desperately miss my loves.

The rooster who lives outside my window can’t sleep tonight either and is crowing instead.

I have taken 3 cold showers tonight, and I’m still sweaty.

Some foreign antibodies are taking over my body and I’m sick and feel like crap.

Several mice and obnoxiously large cockroaches have left a white flag on my floor and asked me to quit waging war against them.

My neighbors are choosing to have an unusually loud party on this night.

~

It’s just been one of those days. It all started when I spent almost 6 hours at the Haitian equivalent of a food stamps office. By 2, Amy and I were starving so we walked to a nearby favorite – Mucheez. But the power had just gone out, so all they could serve us were black chicken nuggets. I’m not kidding, they were at least a very dark brown. And not cause they were burnt.

Spent the last part of my afternoon trying to find some protractors for my 6th graders, since they told us tonight that they need protractors for their big going-into-7th-grade Haitian exam in the morning. Couldn’t find any anywhere.

~

My life is not glamorous here. But even on nights like tonight, I really am thankful that God called me here, cause I definitely wouldn’t have come on my own, and I would have missed a crazy exciting adventure.

 

2 Responses to “If you ain’t got no money take your broke self home/We flyin’ first class, livin’ the life”

  1. mom Says:

    AWH, thanks for shaing your thoughts.
    I am glad that even though life/circumstances are difficult, you always turn your thoughts in gtatefullnes and leave us smiling.
    Cant wait for tomorrow and our trip to the Camp
    and Grenville!!
    Hugs,kisses,and all that emotional stuff.
    XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX
    0000000000000000

  2. Dorothy Says:

    Girl, I am in awe of your faith and obedience to God’s call. I cannot relate to what you are experiencing, but please know you are such a testimony and encouragement just reading your words.

    Praying God will cool the air tonight and you can get some rest and get well soon.

    love.


Leave a Reply

